If you want to work as a contractor, you must obtain a South Carolina heating and air contractor license. It is required if you work on projects that involve more than $200 in the state. This is because only licensed contractors can pull building permits. URL
To obtain an HVAC license, you must pass a number of tests. These exams are administered by the Municipal Association of South Carolina (MASC). You must also have at least four years of journeyman experience to get a master mechanic certificate. The Master Mechanical exam is made up of 120 questions and costs $100.
An HVAC license is a certificate that shows employers that you have the skills to do the job. Licenses are usually renewed during the summer. Typically, it takes about a month for a license to be issued.
There are two types of statewide heating and air contractor licenses in South Carolina. They are the Commercial and Residential HVAC licenses.
For the commercial license, you must have at least two years of experience in the field. Your experience can be obtained through a vocational program or apprenticeship.
Helpful Tips On Making Sure That You Have All Of The Ventilation Necessary Inside Of Rooms Where Humidity Is High
You must also take the Business Management and Law exam. A candidate information bulletin explains the testing process and provides information about the test.
For the residential license, you must have at least one year of experience. You must renew it every two years for a fee of $160.
The most popular route for getting an HVAC license in South Carolina is to earn a degree in Heating and Air Conditioning Technology. These programs are typically offered at colleges and technical schools throughout the state. Some programs offer online coursework, while others require hands-on training.